Unpaid Overtime and Minimum Wages: An Overview
The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (the “FLSA”) requires most employers to pay their employees at the rate of time and one-half (1½) times their regular hourly rate when those employees work more than forty (40) hours per week. This includes employees who work forced, mandatory overtime as well as employees who simply work “off the clock.” If an employer knows or reasonably should know that covered employees are working more than forty (40) hours per week; those employees should probably be paid overtime. Many employers wrongly believe that paying their employees a weekly salary rather than on an hourly bases will, in and of itself, make that employee exempt (not-covered) by the FLSA. Even if a covered employee receives a salary, (unless that employee is actually performing certain types of specified job duties that would render them “exempt”), they are entitled to receive overtime.
The FLSA is a national law; therefore, it is applicable to employees in Florida and other states. The Federal Minimum wage is $7.25/Hour in 2020 plus overtime. Florida employers must pay $8.56/hour in 2020 plus overtime.
The United States Department of Labor (“DOL”) enforces the federal minimum wage and overtime law. The DOL is frequently unable to help wronged employees because they simply have too few investigators and too many complaints to investigate. Therefore, most employees will want to obtain a private attorney to help them obtain their unpaid wages.